Review #11: Antisocial

What will happen when you’ll mix movies like Unfriended, The Pruge and one of the famous tv show? (I don’t want to spoil anything, when you watch this movie, you’ll probably know, about which show I’m talking.) You’ll have a horror called Antisocial.

The movie was released in 2013, wrote and directed by Cody Calahan. Starring: Michelle Mylett, Cody Ray Thompson, Adam Christie, Ana Alic and Romaine Waite.

At the beginning I have to admit, that I have a small problem with this movie. On the one side was good and I liked it, but on the other hand, I didn’t like some elements of it.

7571374.3

The film tells a story of a group of friends gather at a house party to celebrate the New Year. Unbeknownst to them, an epidemic has erupted outside, causing outbreaks around the world. With nowhere else to turn, they barricade themselves indoors with only their phones, laptops, and other tech devices. They use their devices to research the possible cause of this chaos. Information and videos which they’re collecting on their computers brings them closer to the cause of all of this. As the virus spreads, the mood in the house changes from fear to paranoia. Reality becomes blurred as they slowly discover the source of the virus causing the sickness and there is no going back.

First, I’ll start with what I liked. The idea itself was pretty interesting. Some kind of virus attacks from nowhere. You can say, something like that was already made, but here that virus is somehow connected to social media, and this part is new.

The acting was really good, I’ve never been a fan of acting in horror movies. I can find few horror films where the acting was good, and here cast was really believable, and didn’t make you hate them.

antisocial2

Another thing I really enjoyed was, music. Really good choice for background music, fits to the scenes. Reminds of music in the movies from 80s.

I was really surprised by cinematography. It’s not often when you can see beautiful, calm shots in this genre. In this movie, especially at the end, we can see really good piece of art.

Now it’s time for things which bothers me. That part when our characters find out how to cure themselves is unreal. I mean the way they have to do this. By a drill… Really? Let’s be serious, the ending was ridiculous. In the last few scenes were too much blood. I think it wasn’t necessary.

 

SOME SPOILERS HERE!!

Drill a hole in your head. Take off a little creature from there, and you’ll be fine. You’ll survive, until one of the sick people attack you. At the last minute of the movie, all those dead people, who were sick, wakes up. Still sick, somehow connected with each other.

END OF THE SPOILERS!!

 

It wasn’t a bad or a good movie. It’s in the middle. As I said, I enjoyed it the most of the time. Those few elements, which bothers me, didn’t destroy the movie, in my opinion. For sure, if the creators would miss those parts would be better, but it’s only my opinion. Anyway, as an entire project, this movie can be enjoyable. I really look forward to watch Antisocial 2.

5,5/10

Leave a Reply

